Home > Blog, technology > WIN an iPAD?!?

WIN an iPAD?!?


the following is a community service announcement… original post is here

Finally, I am ready to launch!

Yabil started off as an idea, after listening to two of my favourite podcasts (No Agenda and This Week in Tech), sometime in April 2009. I wrote down this idea and it kept growing in my notes until one day in October, I decided to start development . Seven months later and I am ready to launch. I have no idea how this will turn out but I am ready to march forth into unknown territory.

A lot of people have asked me what Yabil means and to each of them I explain how I came up with the name. Yabil is an amalgamation of the words Yap & Babel*. Yapping is what I believe most people do when commenting on the internet forums: informal talk at length in a slightly irritating manner. It’s not very positive…I know. I don’t believe the content is irritating but rather the frequency that we are allowed to voice our opinions can be irritating. Yet this I believe is fundamental to how the internet works, it provides the ability for everyone to have a voice and that is what I want for Yabil. Now why did I choose Babel? Well that relates to the Tower of Babel. I want Yabil to be the center of news. A place where people, who speak different languages/dialects, come together to provide other parts of the world a more accurate telling of news in their location.

In the next couple days I’ll be launching Yabil properly. To help me launch I’ll jump on a bandwagon a lot of Internet companies have used: a Giveaway. What will I be giving away? An Apple iPad of course. Starting Monday 3rd of May 2010 and running for a week, readers of the site(with a couple minor caveats) will be able to win an Apple iPad. Come back here and check on Monday for further details.

I’d also like to thank everyone that helped and supported me for these last few months in my endeavour. I don’t need to call any names, they all know who they are.

Andre Thomas

Chief Reader of Yabil

P.S. If you’re on Twitter follow us @yabilnews

*I chose Babil instead of Babel simply because yabel.com was taken when I tried to register it. Blame them 🙂

i added this to add some flavour to the announcement…

  1. 2 May, 2010 at 9:06

    nice posting.. do you want to see my preview about ipad ??

    if you want, you can go to http://www.frkyblog.blogspot.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

