Home > Blog, education, First Hand, Trinidad > Dear Diary

Dear Diary


the following is something that i’m posting without permission because it needs to be heard/read/disclosed… it has me shaken because I was supposed to be there for the most harowing part of it… it was written by an eleven year old, now entering Form One aka Secondary School, who chronicled the first week of school… as David Mohammed always says… Look out for the young/little ones…

The first day of school. It was OK. I didn’t make any new friends but i stayed with my friend *****. We had a good time walking all over the school.

The second day of school was alot better by a mile. I made plenty of friends… about seven names are listed. But also the second day had a fight. A Form Five student against a previous student. I don’t know who won but the security came, the previous student told a teacher that he will shoot the Form Five student after school. And he did bring a gun to school. But, the security called the POLICE immediately and they arrived in a flash. The boy with the gun got arrested and went to jail.

Thursday, I didn’t come to school because I had personal business to attend to.

Friday, the last day of school and also the most difficult day I had. Our teacher who is also a Dean of the school dropped a big project on us. My friends and I were all lazy and tired after all the other work we had for homework. In the end I had a great time. Not much fun as Primary School. And that’s the end of my week in… my new Secondary School.

i fixed some of the gramatical errors and ommited names but this has me worried. In all my years of schooling I never really had to deal with anything like Gun Violence. Once a fellow student brought a gun to school but there was no threat to anyone… it was to show off. this was in a so called ‘prestige school’. The student also brought a stun gun aka tazer on a previous occassion.

how does one deal with this situation with an impressionable mind. Now hitting puberty… going through all these physical and mental changes… bombarded with a new environment… home and at school.

Parenting isnt easy and teaching/administering in any of our nations school isnt either.

I hope and pray that the next time I come across a Dear Diary it wont be this distressing… even tho the writer definitely has a more positive outlook than I..

  1. 5 September, 2009 at 12:39

    Not that shocking. Even in England it is serious. One school not too far from where I live has police officers outside every evening to disperse students, since they are know for bringing all sorts of weapons into the school.

  2. mauvaislangue
    5 September, 2009 at 15:37

    same in the USofA…

    Back in our days of secondary school we were’nt expose to this much gun violence and crime, it was rare.

    Trinidad should have the presence of police officers at all shcools, and shld also instal metal dectectors…extreme but at least parents may feel somewhat safe when they send their kids to school.

  3. 5 September, 2009 at 21:21

    I agree with this guy.

    It has to do with acceptance.

  4. Chica
    6 September, 2009 at 2:57

    Something like that is always shoking. No kid should have to go in fear to school. What also is quiet troubeling is the fact, that the kid anounced bringing a gun to school. The teacher should have acted then.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

