Home > carnival, rapSOCAlypso, Trinidad > Calypso Monarch 2009 Finalists

Calypso Monarch 2009 Finalists


the finalists who go up against Sugar Aloes on Dimanche Gras Night… the audio is their Calypso Fiesta performances…

  • Ann Marie Parks-Kojo (Twiggy) – One for Obama


  • Anthony Hendrickson (All Rounder) – Help Your Children First


  • Brian London – A Nation’s Son


  • Carlos James (Skatie) – On Solid Ground


  • Dexter Parsons (The Stinger) – Our Environmental Engineers


  • Errol Ballantyne (Bally) – Amigo


  • Hollis Liverpool (Chalkdust) – Ah Not In Dat


  • Joanne Rowley (Tigress) – Yuh Ent See Wajang Yet


  • Karene Asche – Bablyon


  • Kizzie Ruiz – Class Language


  • Mark John (Contender) – Yuh Cyar Buy One


  • Sandra Des Vignes-Millington (Singing Sandra) – Ghetto of Your Mind


  • Weston Rawlins (Cro Cro) – Ah Feeling Shame, Shame


  • Winston Peters (Gypsy) – Supply And Demand


  • Winston Scarborough (D’Original De Fosto Himself) – Could We Rise Again


  • reserves

  • Candice Robinson – In Spite Of


  • Kurt Allen – Cutting Back


  • About these ads
    1. Colin
      16 February, 2009 at 5:47 | #1

      Ahem. Is only 12 names you call. Ent is 14 dey put?

    2. Colin
      16 February, 2009 at 8:05 | #2

      CroCro, Chalkdust and Kizzy Ruiz, I believe, for total of 15 joining Aloes

    3. 16 February, 2009 at 8:19 | #3

      still have to upload those… now

    4. Ricky
      16 February, 2009 at 13:04 | #4

      Tigress will slaughter this sorry bunch.

    5. 16 February, 2009 at 16:04 | #5

      You have to commended big time for this one, Sir. Nice blog post.

    6. 16 February, 2009 at 17:16 | #6

      @ricky… this has to be one of the strongest finals I’ve heard in a while… I’m Loving alot of these songs but I not sure if Tigress could win it…

      @aka thanks… Calypso Fiesta has been in my blood too long to miss it and this year I was impressed with the quality… even if there were some WTF moments…

    7. Rich Vagrant
      16 February, 2009 at 19:06 | #7

      I was very impressed with the calypsos this year. The calypsonian who stands out the most, in my opinion, is De Fosto with his rendition of “Could We Rise Again”. I hope he wins. The competition is really tough this year. I don’t think either Sugar Aloes or my boy Cro Cro has the lyrics to place in the first three spots. Brian London, Tigress and Chalkdust are strong contenders.

    8. 16 February, 2009 at 21:25 | #8

      I like Kurt Allen – Cutting Back

    9. 16 February, 2009 at 21:29 | #9

      @aka… so who you gonna scare out of the finals?

      the dark horse has to be Contender…

    10. Colin
      17 February, 2009 at 9:52 | #10

      I sorry. I never understand why people like calypsos like DeFosto own. It is just a familiar chronicle of woe: no insight or vision, no lyrics to make a politician cringe, no memorable turn of phrase on your lips all season (KMC and all manage dat with his social soca commentary “Yeast”), no melody in yuh head de nex’ mornin’, no guidance, no wit, no line in de tune ever make a “Kaiso!” in yuh throat. DeFosto’s best tunes are brilliant and they are in a deep place in my memory, lyrics and melody. But this one: I coulda read de papers. I just fedup of a series of prayerful handwringing dirges passing as calypso. Ah guess de judges fraid he put down a cry again.

    11. 17 February, 2009 at 10:13 | #11

      I coulda read de papers.

      thats tru but thats the sentiment of the woeful song… it chronicles a plethora of problems in T&T and we as a society have become so numb we see them on a daily basis and they don’t phase us… the question by deFosto is ‘if’ T&T could Rise again…… I don’t believe it to be passing as calypso as it is a voice for those who don’t have one…

      maybe more people need to experience the problems he speaks of to understand the CRY…

    12. Rich Vagrant
      17 February, 2009 at 13:48 | #12

      Colin….. Ah see yuh brave to criticise calypso and peoples’ opinions (ah true true calypso lover never does dat) but yuh not brave to make ah prediction. Lemme hear who you think is going to win? We go see whose guy/gyal does de best come Sunday night.

    13. Rich Vagrant
      17 February, 2009 at 14:05 | #13

      hey Colin…please be reminded that singing Sandra won de crown when she sang ” Voices In The Ghetto”. Yuh didn’t think dat was crying too? How soon yuh forget. Yuh mustn’t knock the art form. Appreciate it instead. Most importantly, show some respect for it …… Ah done…ah gone…behave yuhself

      • 3 March, 2010 at 11:42 | #14

        You know, I remember when Carnival was a happy time. I’m not saying the music of calypso was always happy jump up music like soca. But how can a song like that win…in carnival season. It is really a bit to gloomy and depressing in my opinion. Fantastic song though…

    14. jillipoo
      17 February, 2009 at 18:32 | #15

      The ladies will take T&T by storm it will be a 1:2 This is the year of the Tiger or the Wajang. How it go look!!!!!

    15. 18 February, 2009 at 0:54 | #16

      WATCH OUT FOR SKATIE

      From the Calypso warrior of St. Maarten
      http://www.cdbaby.com/all/fishtheboss

    16. 18 February, 2009 at 1:05 | #17

      Greetings Trinidad & Tobago
      Respect to all Calypsonions for their yearly effort in the name of calypso
      Most of all, admiration coming from the voice of St. Martin/St Maarten
      I have been listening to Trinidad calypso for decades the decisions in my personal opinion does be sometime astonishing, However, I believe in the mind of a die heart fan they will always defend their favorite calypsonion; therefore most of the time you won’t get the truth from and insider but an outsider like my self for example I respect every man opinion; Nevertheless, its just ones view or should I say judgment on the best song of their choice well I have not heard the reigning king as yet so I can’t leave him out, but before I give my honest opinion on who I think is strong and just might wear the crown I enjoy listening to Sugar Aloes, Cro Cro and Karen Ash now as far as the best in my honest opinion which is my top two • • Carlos James (SKATIE) – On Solid Ground that song is a master piece this man might just surprise the critics with an upset victory to those who comprehend the art of calypso from a writer point of view will see where I’m coming from in second place I’m looking at the new comer KIZZIE RUIZ- Class Language that song is a classic number three spot still open. And just so you know that young girl Karen ash have been ignore on capturing a position over the years she is such a great calysponian and Brian London and ways got a good song keep it up brother. Much love and blessing to all However the real battle come down to who bring it hot on Sunday night for anything could happen it’s all up to what go down that night good luck to all
      Yours truly
      His Majesty Baker Jr.
      http://www.cdbaby.com/all/kingbakerjr

    17. 18 February, 2009 at 20:48 | #18

      Greetings once again Trinidad & Tobago
      Its me again I’m concluding and confirming my judgment on the Calypso finalist and closing the open position after a second listen from top to bottom the positions I stated remain the same people but one more is added in on the top 3 could be in the position #1 he is no other than Brian London – A Nation’s Son I must say what a big song it is so reality and facts as that that young man is so great he and Karene Asche is the two young greatest in Trinidad. Therefore the top four which I must add in; due to the fact that, of how they bring it Sunday
      Its between Carlos James (Skatie) – On Solid Ground and Brian London – A Nation’s Son
      The third position will be the new comer Kizzie Ruiz – Class Language following by Karene Asche – Bablyon
      That is my final opinion on the show Sunday between this name I call remember anything could happen its one don’t deliver their song on that night I say again best of luck to one and all
      Yours Indeed
      Baker Jr.
      http://www.cdbaby.com/all/kingbakerjr
      Email: hismajestybakerjr@hotmail.com
      Keep me posted on the result it will be appreciated much love and blessings

    18. 18 February, 2009 at 21:08 | #19

      will keep you updated…

      two in your top three have used the same melodic structure in songs before… one just last year… I wonder if the judges will recognize this… remember that originality accounts for some of the score…

      top quality selections lyrically and I welcome the Merry Monarch in 2009… they may well have redeemed themselves this year… the judges that is…

    19. Sapodilla Chow
      19 February, 2009 at 18:55 | #20

      This year’s calypsos lyrical contents are creating a lot of excitement in the kaiso arena. We have a bumper crop of very good calypsos which makes it difficult to pick a winner. This is one Dimache Gras show I will not miss.

    20. Colin
      19 February, 2009 at 21:35 | #21

      Friends: I don’t think that when you respect the artform you can’t criticise it or individual calypsoes. I speak my mind because I love calypso. I have been saying how brilliant KMC (who I cyah stand) tune is and how underrecognised he is for returning social commentary and meaningful lyrics to soca. And “Voices in the Ghetto” was powerful, had great imagery, and made you shout “Kaiso!” in almost every verse. No comparison to DeFosto this year. The best calypsonians sing critically about the artform all the time, as did Brian London, Contender, Wendell Etienne ,Candice Robinson at this year’s Kaiso Fiesta and Luta when he won; they don’t only offer praisesongs like David Rudder’s immortal anthem and the sadly overlooked new tune by Devon Seale. In fact, I believe strongly that the categories competition needs to add a new one for calypsoes on the artform.

      I would have picked only seven of the actual finalists: Karene Asche, Contender, Allrounder, Sandra, Tigress, Bally and Chalkie; though Brian London is warming on me considerably. I favour Bally or Chalkie to win. I think the mood in the country is ready to crown someone singing (or pretending not to sing) on the PNM. But while I have respect for the artform, I have none whatseover for the judges. (Who are they anyway?) So I never take their decisions seriously. I would put Asche in the top four along with Tigress. I think London will place highly and would be winning potential if his tune had stronger metre. His performance in Skinner Park was horrible, so that can improve significantly.

    21. 20 February, 2009 at 19:39 | #22

      hello to all, ah like wha ah hearing here all the finalist i think are very strong this year ,i aint hear what the king is singing yet so i am still in the dark there,ah like what ah hearing from skatie, brian london and kizzie ruiz, karene asche is strong as usual i think these four are the ones that will cause an upset come sunday, but doh rule out the veterans cause yuh know they tricky…anyhow good luck to all of them and may the best one win….great site love the song clips, bless up and respect. fish da mega boss st.maarten

    22. Inskip Millett
      23 February, 2009 at 0:39 | #23

      I am hoping that they give the young Calypsonians some encouragement and a well deserved break, with the judging this year and award the crown to one of them. I like Skatie’s contribution very much, also Kizzy Ruiz’s song. I know free booze could cloud people’s judgment, causing them to make bad decisions.

    23. Rich Vagrant
      23 February, 2009 at 1:12 | #24

      Colin boy…Ah pick the first four. Look at meh predictions. I guess I had the last laugh. ….. Talk with sense de next time. … It done gone Colin.. Yuh doh have to reply… cause ah not going to answer yuh this time. Take it like ah big man… Enough said.

      • Colin
        23 February, 2009 at 17:36 | #25

        Dis man well like a ting. Is not you and me competing, boy; is de calypsonian and dem. I doh watch Dimanche Gras. I does go fete into J’Ouver. But I managed to ketch Chalkie mashing dem up because I had heard he was planning to buss a new ting. But if we scoring point, ent I did say a kaiso on de PNM would win? And Tigress and London did well, which makes me happy. Ah still doh like Twiggy or DeFosto calypso. Da’s just taste; everybody doh have to agree; neither of dem win. But what happen to Bally? I eh hear he sing; was it the performance?

    24. 23 February, 2009 at 1:48 | #26

      I left Trinidad in 1968 as an Evangelical pastor who, because of theological polities, never was convicted to support the cultural initiatives of my country. However, I have monitored the development of the national changes. I have never been more excited about the adaptations in the calypso reflections of culture and its importance in the shaping of a new society as I am today.

      I was particularly thrilled with the rendition by Kizzie Ruiz. Girl, GO FOR IT!

      I live in the US, but I invite you to visit my blog, which is sometimes disturbing: http://nazareneblogs.org/thinkonthesethings/

    25. Ricky
      24 February, 2009 at 7:12 | #27

      Ah stlll feel Tigress beat Chalkdust but yuh know how it does go here.

      • Malika
        6 March, 2009 at 0:19 | #28

        I think Tigress was lucky to come second. Even though the lyrics and presentation of the song was good i didnt get any feeling from the performance. Her performance at the semi’s was way much a better one. Her semi performance would have won her in the final but at the final i think she came soft. Finals at anything u are always supposed to come at ur hardesd. Still love the song and congrats to her but i speak it as i see it.

    26. shane
      28 February, 2009 at 3:03 | #29

      i’d like to get the lyrics to me and my heart plz

    27. Malika
      6 March, 2009 at 0:42 | #30

      all were really good. i am so glad i wasnt the judge. i would place all first

    28. hinata safro
      19 July, 2009 at 18:34 | #31

      da sound of the shi zam aka tia lol

    29. the pope
      18 February, 2010 at 13:56 | #32

      in a show to pay respect to (THE MIGHTY DUKE) chalkdust is the only one that mention his name, and dedicated his calypso to him. so i love you chalkie and i am very happy that you won. the next thing is those of you that dont know s–t about calypso keep your comment to yourself.

    30. 12 March, 2011 at 15:17 | #34

      i love chalkdust

    1. 16 February, 2009 at 0:44 | #1
    2. 23 February, 2009 at 12:57 | #2
    3. 3 January, 2011 at 13:18 | #3

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 2,410 other followers

